Time to Fly Kites

Image

The Easter Bunny left McCartney and Ana kites!  Monday night, I was tired after a morning cleaning and exercising and an afternoon at the park, but the kids begged to go to the field by the school to fly their new kites.  Scott and I agreed, and now, 4 days later, I am so glad we did.  It was so fun to spend that time out in the fresh air running around, hearing the kids laugh, spending time as a 4 person family.  Monday night was special and important.

Then Tuesday hit.  The storm began.  I am a big believer in 1 activity per child.  No more.  They are kids.  We need time as a family and I want to see them, not drive them from here to there and everywhere.  Well, after a winter of no activities, McCartney, using his wonderful lawyering skills talked Scott and I into signing him up for soccer.  See, soccer is ONLY 45 minutes a week.  Ana is playing soccer anyway, the SAME night, so it’s just one more game and practice.  What’s 45 minutes?  

What’s 45 minutes?  Good question.  Well, the problem is, too many times that mindset talks us into things that we know we just don’t have time for.  45 minutes isn’t long, but when Scott is working and the two kids are playing at two fields at the same time, that 45 minutes have changed.  Now, I have to be in two places at the same time.  Oh, and let’s not forget the baseball practice that was supposed to be on Monday has be rescheduled to Tuesday night.  Scott finds out he has to work late Tuesday and I have a meeting, and all of a sudden that 45 minutes feels like a big mistake.

Then for some reason Wednesday and Thursday happen just like Tuesday. We didn’t have soccer, but other STUFF going on.  At this moment, I can’t even tell you what, so it wasn’t important.  What I can tell you is that I feel like I haven’t played with my kids since Monday.  I haven’t taken pictures, or written any stories, it feels like we just got through the past few days. That makes me sad.  Lesson learned, 1 activity per kid, forever.  I love my kids, I love my family.  We are a unit that needs time together.

I cannot say again, how happy I am that I gave up a few minutes of reading Monday night to go fly kites with my kids.

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Time to Fly Kites

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

