Dear Summer Vacation,

Dear Summer Vacation,

Well, it’s that time to say good-bye to another summer vacation.  I will admit, when you began at 11:30am on May 17, 2012, I was apprehensive.  I was worried about the LONG days ahead with my two spunky kids.  I never know what to expect when my son loses his schedule or my daughter has to give up her social life.  Despite the heat, my kids’ bickering, and evil twin syndrome, I think it went quite well.

First of all, I want to thank you, Summer Vacation, for time.  Time to be together, time to read, time to play, and time to be ourselves.  There is nothing like the lazy days of summer and we definitely had many of those!

We had fun spending most of our afternoons at Splash Station.  McCartney loved the water slides and Ana made it across the ropes course for the first time without falling.  I enjoyed the freedom of playing with the kids, or being about to sit in my chair and watch from afar. 

Spending time with friends was another fabulous highlight.  It was great to have extra time with the Metchke’s a few play dates.  Critter Camp was another highlight to our month.  Finally, the weekly book club that managed to keep me sane this summer.  For all of those fun activities, I thank you.

Despite the losing season, McCartney enjoyed his baseball career and the chance to be on an all boys competitive team.  We all learned the importance of sportsmanship on and off the field too.  Maybe next year will be the year for a championship, or not.  Who cares?  He had fun!

Oh, the trips that you allowed us to take this year were the biggest gift of all!  The kids loved their week-long nothing but fun with our Lincoln family, and Scott and I enjoyed the freedom of the open road.

The Maine vacation was the best!  While it was great to get away with just Scott, there is nothing better than the 4 of us discovering new things together.  It was also great to reconnect with our Maine life that we miss EVERY SINGLE day.  It couldn’t have been better!

Connections with friends old and new, were the biggest blessing of all.  Thank you for all of the fun times.  I hope the memories will keep us warm when the weather turns cold and lonely.

While the summer has been grand, I am sooooo ready to say good-bye to you!  You failed to teach my kids how to sleep in each morning, but due to your long sunlight, they struggled with bedtime.  We have been together nonstop, and while it is a blessing, it is also time to do our own things.  I can’t wait to miss my kids, and hear all about their adventures upon dismissal.  While constant togetherness is awesome, so is individuality, and it’s time.

Thank you for another wonderful summer vacation.

Enjoy your nice long nap.

Sincerely,

Courtney

10 thoughts on “Dear Summer Vacation,

    • Thank you! I get so tired of everyone acting like life is perfect. It feels good to tell it like I see it. I LOVE being a mom, but I don’t love the moments of tantrums and whining! 🙂

  1. I always feel guilty about secretly, or maybe not so secretly, anticipating the beginning of the school year. You’re closing paragraph makes me realize that being apart doesn’t have to be a bad thing. It is nice to see your children at the end of the day and hear about the exciting things that have happened. The part you wrote about Summer Vacation not teaching your kids how to sleep in made me laugh.

    • Yeah, if they would sleep more, or at least nap, I think it would have felt better. Instead, they were constantly over tired and they fought a LOT last week. It’s time for a routine. MC NEEDS it and he is quickly losing skills. It was almost 90 days and that is a lot for the poor kiddo. I will miss the freedom of summer and our time together. My house feels empty…

  2. “Summer days are gone to soon……”
    It sounds like you’ve had a fantastic Summer. Great photos! Maine Summers never last long enough for me. I’m a Summer lover. That may be due to the fact that I don’t have children. 😉 I’ll be embracing the last 39 or so days of official Summer here. The nights are cooler, the plants and trees are slowly changing already. My wood pile has yet to be stocked. I have no idea where my shovel is! Nor do I care. I’ll worry about that when the time comes.
    I enjoy your blog and thanks to you I have found a few others to read.

    • I agree. I have mixed emotions about school starting. My house is quiet and it feels too big right now. Next year, I need to find some balance and have the kids involved more with their peers, without making them too busy. We are ready for a more cooler days, 100 degrees for a month is too hot, but I am not ready for winter, ever. It does go by too fast though, I agree. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

