The University of Google

Well, it’s official, I have applied to grad school, that’s what I did last week when the kids were in school and I didn’t get to sub, at all.  I also spent countless hours editing a wedding.  Can you guess which one was fun?  Yes, I LOVE editing!  Anyway, as I was writing an essay, and the rewriting it, asking for letters, getting my transcript sent over, I wished that I could get my masters from the University of Google.  I seriously could write a thesis on how much one can learn off of the internet.  Over the years, I have learned plenty.

As a classroom teacher, I used the internet very little for my classroom.  I relied on books for information.  However, as a mom, especially when we were going through the diagnosis stage, so many of the books were outdated and I needed current information.  I spent HOURS searching the web for behavior plans, games, social stories, and any strategy you could think of to help make our lives better.  Of course, once I had the basic ideas, like a teacher, I changed them to fit our situation.

A typical photo before I learned about post processing. Plus, who knows how many photos I had to take to get this perfect moment?

I have admitted countless times that stay-at-home motherhood has been both a blessing and curse.  I mean, once our boxes were unpacked and the house was organized, I was EXTREMELY bored and unchallenged.  Luckily, I found the 365 Project and photography.  For over two years, I have been accessing the University of Google to learn all sorts of things.  I have learned how to shoot manually, I have learned numerous photo softwares, I have learned how to create fantasy photos, and how to make my photographs sparkle.  I have researched cameras, lens, speed lights, and any photography related product you could imagine.

Now, that I have studied photography, I only need to snap once, to get the moment. Sometimes, I snap more than once. I have learned so much in post processing.

Of course, one cannot stop at photography, because now I am in love with writing, and blogging.  This week alone I have learned how to make ad space, a grab my button widget, and today, I added new social icons (Thanks to Kira and plechi).  I am starting to fall in love with graphic design and I am learning a lot.

The drawbacks of the University of Google is the TIME it takes.  I wish I could get paid for the hours I have spent researching, trying and failing.  It’s more than I will admit to even myself.  Little snippets of time really add up over the months and years.  Plus, I can’t exactly put these skills on a resume.  “Self taught, no lessons!” [Insert scene from The Wedding Singer with the drunk brother].

I certainly wish I could get credits, or a master’s from The University of Google.  Instead, I am going to hopefully start a real master’s program in less than a month, but that is in God’s hands now.  If not in a month, then soon, and it won’t be as free as The University that I have been attending, but at the end of my 36 credit hours, I will at least have a better degree and a piece of paper to put on my walls.  I hope to at least have some direction once I have paid another few thousand dollars for my brain.

One of my first fantasy photos. It’s rough, and I had a lot to learn, but it’s another skill I have because of The University of Google.

 

Linked up with The Crumby Mummy with Fun Photo Fun:

14 thoughts on “The University of Google

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was inquisitive if you knew of any widgets I could
    add to my blog that conveniently tweet my newest twitter up-dates.
    I’ve been looking for for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe
    you would have some experiences with something like this.
    Please make me aware if you run into anything.
    I truly like reading your blog and I look forth to your new updates.

  2. Good luck with your applications! I too am a student at Google. I still have lots to learn! Thanks for linking up! If you have any advice on making photos sparkle, please let me know. Your photos are beautiful!!! x

  3. Pingback: Seriously, What’s My Hobby? | Our Small Moments

    • Thank you, Richard! I have applied. Whether or not I will get accepted or that we can find the loans is yet to be determined. Wayne State College has a neat teacher learning community that takes place in our town once a month and then we spend the rest of the time working on projects at home and work. I pray I can do it, otherwise I have to find a new program. This one feels perfect, but it’s in God’s hands right now.

    • Thank you! I have applied. Whether or not I will get accepted or that we can find the loans is yet to be determined. Wayne State College has a neat teacher learning community that takes place in our town once a month and then we spend the rest of the time working on projects at home and work. I pray I can do it, otherwise I have to find a new program. This one feels perfect, but it’s in God’s hands right now.

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

