Lazy Girls’ Afternoon

This summer, I spent hours and hours with my kids, at least every waking hour.  Now that school is in full swing, and I am subbing regularly, all of a sudden, I find myself missing my kids.  Now, this is NOT a case of “the grass is always greener,” it’s more like “be careful what you wish for…”  I can say it, I miss my kids.  I miss cuddles on the couch and laying on my bed reading stories.  I miss our happy moments that we used to have everyday, instead of this constant feeling of rush rush rush.  I hate to feel busy, and I don’t handle it well.  How do we get busy?  It’s amazing how it just creeps up on a family. I know, in time, we will find our balance, our happy family place, and I must be patient until we do.

After a week of too much to do, our weekend is free.  We have no real commitments and all of a sudden, that feels like a gift to treasure, instead of something to take for granted.  McCartney had a birthday party today, and Scott was working, so Ana and I jumped on the chance to have our version of Girl Time.  She wanted to rent a movie, although it is perfect outside, I let her.  She is so tired from school and extra activities, I decided to let her have some rest.  She also wanted a special snack: cheese, crackers, pickles, Skittles, and chocolate milk.  (Disclaimer, Coach Amy, I stayed gluten free and enjoyed my nuts and green tea.)

We rented her movie, bought our snacks, and set out to have a picnic in the living room.  (We don’t eat in our living room or with the TV on, ever.)  Once the snacks were done, we cuddled on the couch and laughed until we coughed.

We danced.

And we took pictures of ourselves having a good time.

We had a wonderful time together.  I love spending the rare one-on-one time with my happy little girl.  I hope I can find some one-on-one time with my boy soon.

These are the moments that matter and they are what being a mom is all about.

3 thoughts on “Lazy Girls’ Afternoon

  1. You and I subscribe to the same brand of crazy. I, too, miss my kids now that they’re back at school. I feel like people look at me like I have ten heads when I tell them this. Anyway, sounds like a lovely day with your daughter. It is those little moments in life that are the memories to cheris.

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

