The Next 5 Saturdays….

Mid August, my son, surprised the heck out of me when he said, “I think I want to play flag football this fall.”

I froze with shock.  “Buddy, are you sure?  I thought you loved baseball.  Do you really want to take 9 month off?  What about going pro?”

“Okay, I will play baseball…” he said.

“No, I mean, do what you want, but I just wanted to make sure you thought it out,” I said feeling like a world-class jerk.  (Yes, I am the same person who complained about the MONTHS and MONTHS of baseball later this summer.  However, if football was the other option, then no thank you.  I love football and it is FUN to watch on Saturdays, but I really don’t want my kid out there getting pushed around and possibly injured.)

“Okay, I want to play football then,” he declared.

“I will sign you up, but are you sure?  I mean, what if they don’t let you play much?  What if the boys aren’t nice?  Are you sure you can handle that?”

At this point, my poor son was staring at me with the face of, “just tell me what to do.”  Poor kid, I felt bad for him, trying to decipher my crazy over a silly 6 week sport.

Finally, I said, “You are seven and this is the perfect time to try new sports, so when you decide that baseball is your sport, at least you tried.” [Ugh!  Seriously, it is painful for me to type how terrible I was that day, but I am an honest blogger, ready to admit my mistakes.  And yes, I SHOULD have just said, “Sure, I will sign you up.” But I am the one who has watched him play the more unorganized sports with mega frustration AND I am the one who has to deal with his frustration the rest of the day.  But that is not what this post is about, so I will move on.]

So, for 6 Saturdays this fall, Ana and I get to watch McCartney play flag football.  Where will Scott be?  Um, at work, so this sport, like all Saturday sports, is totally my responsibility.  Yay! (That is a sarcastic yay! by the way.)

do love watching kids play sports.  I know, I act like I don’t but I really do.  What I don’t like is the getting everyone out of the door, reminding about water bottles, finding parking, lugging the chairs, and all of the standing around, waiting for it happen.  Not to mention the obligation of practices, and trying to remember where everyone belongs on what day.  But if you subtract all of the other factors, I do, in fact, love watching the sport.

The first game, felt really long.  We had to be there early… Why?  I don’t know because it took 30 seconds for my son to put on his team t-shirt.  Plus, game time was over an hour, and we all know, how I hate it when the game keeps going on beyond the allotted time.  Why?  I don’t know… Yes, I am crazy.

Anyway, today was pretty fun.  There was one amazing play in the hour and 15 minute game, and the fabulous play was for the other team.  Although as a viewer, there wasn’t a lot of action, the kids on the field were having a wonderful time, while working on their ever so important flag football skills, and that is what is important.

 

PS New topic: Don’t you LOVE my new watermark? I need to play around with colors, but I am super happy with it!  Amy Hughes from Love Bug designed it!  Yay!  Thank you, Amy!

2 thoughts on “The Next 5 Saturdays….

  1. Sounds like fun! I hear you, I try to make sure the kids REALLY want to do these activities because they are a lot of work on my part, especially if they are going to twirl there hair during the games. 🙂 I can’t wait to see how the season progresses. Look on the bright side, at least you are not trying to keep them from fighting at home, right?! 🙂 Great pictures!

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

