Hurry, Hurry, Come on, Let’s Go

“Come on, let’s go, we’re in a hurry, we have [this, this, and this] to do before that [unimportant event that for some reason we can’t miss]!”  It seems like I am saying this to my family everyday.  I hate it, I hate it with a passion.  I hate that my alarm goes off around 5, I do a workout or two, rush the kids out the door, to drop everyone off at their places, and then barely make it to school on time.  Then, after school, I rush to pick up the kids so we can run home, have a snack, do some homework before we fly out the door again.  Sometimes we make it home before 6, and others we get home around 8.

I look at our schedule and lives and wonder, “How did this happen?”  I hate to be busy. I love leisure, I love moderation, I love a slow-paced life.  How did I let our family get so busy?  I can answer that, by saying, “Yes,” to one small commitment at a time.  Just like a bunch of small changes can add up to a big change, well a bunch of small commitments add up to too many.

I look at our commitments, and wonder, “What can we put on hold?”:

Sporting events – Nope, we have two left for each kid, we just have to hold on to that.

MOPS – Nope, I need my Mommy interaction, especially now that I am working and Scott’s schedule is crazy.

Boy Scouts – Nope, Scott went to one parent meeting and came home a den leader.  (Stay tuned for a photo of him in his scouting uniform.  I can’t wait!)

Grad School – Uh, no.  Can’t quit that!

Blogging or Photography – Only if i want to sink into a deep depression again.  Sorry, can’t do that.  I have cut down on both, and my soul is aching for it.  I can’t give up my art, it’s too hard and makes me sad.

Working out – Can I give up eating and breathing too?

Community Service – What would Jesus do?  What kind of message does that send?

Housework and laundry – Well, something has to go.  I guess I will try to do that… 😉

I guess I will continue to give up sleep, and hold on tight for the next couple of weeks, praying that no one gets sick.

Anyway, there is no point to this writing.  I am facing a writer’s block at the moment.  This terrible schedule is getting in the way of my family stories.  It’s time to find the inspiration again, but first, I think I need to breathe.

How do you supermoms do it all?  I seem to fail every single time…At the end of the day, I am not Superwoman, so I may as well stop trying and just breathe. Breathe.  Breathe.

 

3 thoughts on “Hurry, Hurry, Come on, Let’s Go

  1. I totally, completely, 100% hear you. I tell my husband how stresses I am and he’s all, ok – what can you eliminate? And I think and think and realize – nothing. I can’t eliminate anything. Not right now, at least.

    Here is one small thing I am doing lately: I am starting to say “no” to more stuff. Help my kid sell wrapping paper crap for the PTA? Nope. I’ll just write a check and donate some money. Participate in the neighborhood yard sale? No way. Instead I’m giving some of my stuff to a neighborhood kid to sell and keep the profits. Saying “no” is so freeing! Just say no from now on! 🙂

  2. Good for you to work it all in! When Alivia started school, I cut a lot out! A LOT! One playdate a week (during school) per child, only do one activity at a time (and my kids refuse to do any), I only volunteer to help not to do it all (too overwhelming), and I expect my house to be dirty. I have grown to be an under achiever. So far…it is working. 🙂 I’m sure our schedule will get busier…but I am with u…I like things slow and quiet.

    • Yeah, I was so good at being an underachiever last year, and now I have fallen victum to my working self. MUST STOP IT NOW! For the next round, I think I am going to make MC sit out of sports or do karate. Something that requires one hour or less a week…Ana might have to take a break too…

I love to hear from you! Please talk to me!

